K-State Nominates Students For Rhodes And Marshall Awards

Several Kansas State University students have been selected to represent the university in competition for Rhodes and Marshall scholarships. Both scholarship programs provide $40,000 to $60,000 to support two years of study in England. Rhodes scholars study at Oxford University. Marshall scholars may study at any university in Great Britain.

According to K-State scholar adviser James Hohenbary, the nominees for both Rhodes and Marshall scholarships are Jared Rose, Micaela Wood and Tiffany Hockman. Johnathan Robinson has been nominated for the Rhodes competition. And Cassie Latta has been nominated for the Marshall competition.

Wood, Leavenworth, is a senior in history, with a secondary major in international studies and a minor in political science. She is a member of Phi Kappa Phi honor society, secretary of the K-State chapter of Golden Key International Honor Society, and president of Phi Alpha Theta history honorary. She has been a resident assistant in Putnam Hall, nominated for resident assistant of the year, and a university experience instructor 1999-2001. In 2000 she received a Blue Key Peters Student Development Scholarship through the KSU Foundation. She also was a Putnam Scholar. The former Micaela Simmons, she is a 1998 graduate of Leavenworth High School, and is the daughter of Don Simmons, Medford, Okla., and Sandy Simmons, Leavenworth.

Rose, Lyons, is a junior in political science and philosophy with a minor in leadership studies. He is past president of Theta Xi fraternity and past president of Chimes junior honorary. He also is a member of the Student Alumni Board. A National Merit Scholar, he also received the Wallace Memorial Scholarship and the K-State Presidential Scholarship through the KSU Foundation. He has been on the honors list for several semesters. A 1998 graduate of Lyons High School, he is the son of Melinda and Tim Rose, Lyons.

Hockman, Shawnee, is a senior in accounting. She is president of the National Residence Hall Honorary, and is active in the College of Business Administration honors program. She is a West Hall community assistant, a conversational English tutor, and a member of the IMA Case Debate Team. She is a Leadership Scholar, a deanís list scholar, and a member of Beta Gamma Sigma honor society. She also participates in equestrian eventing in dressage and hunt seat riding styles. She is a 1999 graduate of Shawnee Mission Northwest High School and is the daughter of Barbara and Nicholas Hockman, 6927 Rene, Shawnee.

Robinson, Topeka, is a senior in political science. He is city government director, a cabinet post for the Student Governing Association. He also is a member of Golden Key International Honor Society, Sigma Iota Rho and Pi Sigma Alpha honoraries. He is a member of the Menís Glee Club and is on the national deanís list, and a member of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars. A National Merit Scholar and recipient of the K-State Presidential Scholarship, he also won the College of Arts and Sciences Excellence Award. He is a 1998 graduate of Cair Paravel Latin School, Topeka, and the son of Christie and Terry Robinson, 8038 S.W. Huntoon, Topeka.

Latta, Yuma, Colo., is a senior in animal sciences and industry. She is leadership chair for Mortar Board Senior Honor Society, floor president of the Moore Hall Governing Board, and a member of the national champion 2001 K-State Wool Judging Team. She also was a member of the 1999 Meats Judging Team, a member of Block and Bridle Club and K-State Ag REPS. She has received a K-State Honors Scholarship, a Mike Harper Leadership Scholarship through ConAgra Corp., Chevy Trucks/National FFA Foundation Scholarship. She also participates in the College of Agriculture honors program. She is associate editor for a nonprofit scientific journal, "Veterinary and Human Toxicology." She is a 1997 graduate of Yuma High School and is the daughter of DeGaye and David Latta, 706 W. Apache Drive, Yuma.