KFB Adopts Positions, Elect State Directors

Volunteer farmer/rancher delegates to the 83rd annual meeting of Kansas Farm Bureau re-affirmed the organizations long-standing commitment to a consistent long-term market oriented national farm policy. They adopted new policy language to address emerging bio-security and food safety concerns.

The Farm Bureau delegates also adopted policy encouraging new, cutting-edge research and sound science to protect livestock and crop production in Kansas from the threat of bio-terrorism or from introduction of animal and plant pests or diseases through accidental infestation.

"Government at all levels has an impact on the bottom lines of agricultural producers," said Stan Ahlerich, Winfield, Kansas Farm Bureau president.

The Kansas Farm Bureau delegates also elected a number of two-year term leadership positions. Two new faces on the Kansas Farm Bureau Board of Directors are Richard Felts, Montgomery County, elected by delegates to serve KFBs 3rd District of southeast Kansas; and Craig Stephenson, Saline County, chosen to serve from KFBs 5th District of north central Kansas.

Re-elected to two-year terms on the KFB Board of Directors were Steve Baccus, Ottawa County, as Kansas Farm Bureau Vice-President and Helen Norris, Sumner County, Chair of the Kansas Committee of Farm Bureau Women. Three sitting KFB State Board members were re-elected: Jeff Grossenbacher, Nemaha County, from KFBs 1st District of northeast Kansas; Edie Dahlsten, McPherson County, from KFBs 7th District of south-central Kansas and Fred Askren, Finney County, representing KFBs 9th District of southwest Kansas.