Manhattan Shelter Gets $67,224 Grant

The Kansas Department of Commerce & Housing (KDOC&H) and Lt. Governor/KDOC&H Secretary Gary Sherrer today announced the awarding of $833,625 in Emergency Shelter grants to nine counties, 17 cities, and one unified city/county government across the state. Emergency Shelter grant funds are distributed to local governments to be used through non-profit emergency shelters and other providers to assist homeless persons and families in 85 counties. Funds may be used for the rehabilitation of shelter facilities, shelter operation costs, essential services for homeless persons, and homeless prevention activities. The grants are administered by the KDOC&H. The recipients of Emergency Shelter grants, and the amount of their grants, are:

Allen County, $9,237

Brown County, $35,921

Butler County, $7,184

Coffeyville, $3,079

Crawford County, $12,235

El Dorado, $40,997

Emporia, $12,316

Ford County, $23,811

Garden City, $42,021

Hays, $22,169

Hutchinson, $39,000

Johnson County, $60,553

Junction City, $42,592

Lawrence, $56,275

Leavenworth, $46,184

Leavenworth County, $17,139

Manhattan, $67,224

Pittsburg, $35,921

Rice County, $5,645

Salina, $33,868

Seward County, $33,150

Topeka, $43,060

Ulysses, $18,033

Wellington, $7,882

Wichita, $65,684

Winfield, $10,879

Unified Government of Wyandotte County, $41,566.

"This is the fifteenth year of funding for Emergency Shelter grants," said Lt. Governor/KDOC&H Secretary Gary Sherrer. "The KDOC&H remains committed to supporting organizations across the state in the important work of providing homeless families and individuals with ways to become more self-sufficient."